self -Introduction

Hi, my name is Liliana. I am a seventh grade science teacher at Spring Oaks Middle School (SOMS). I am from the North Coast of Peru but my favorite place to live is the Peruvian Amazon. My mentor is Dr. Segatori and I am really thrilled to have the opportunity to work with her. My mentor’s topics of interest are protein engineering, synthetic biology and bionanotechnology.

I believe that preparation of materials for the labs and daily plan of activities (lesson plans) will be part of the duties I plan to use in the lab. I had several mentors in my professional life that helped me to get here, one of them was Dr. Tovar, a biologist who helped me to believe that I could take a challenge and get my dream job.

I am excited about my participation in the Nano RET program, the research that my mentor will share with me, opportunities to become a better teacher and get to meet new people. I like both coffee and tea. Lately, I became a tea person since I tasted my friend’s Chai tea with cardamom and ginger, changed my diet and started to drink more green tea and Macha tea. What will be challenging? The beginning is always challenging until I fully understand how everything works.

One thought on “self -Introduction”

  1. Hey Liliana, it was so great to meet you today! If you are starting to become more of a tea person you should venture into the world of bubble tea if you have never tried it, I would highly recommend Gong-Cha! It is very delicious!!! Looking forward to learning about your research and I hope you enjoy your summer experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *