WAIT!! SLOW DOWN!!!!

Not Ready to Say Goodbye

Last Day with Beniam and his brother Mattie

Yesterday was the last day working with Beniam and Mattie. I am so impressed with these two! Beniam is a rising sophomore at UT and Mattie is a rising sophomore in high school. Very thankful to work with both of them this summer.

Still Working!

Thank you to Sara in Dr. Alvarez lab for providing us some data on concentrations of extracted pyrene in soil samples! We are almost finished comparing the data between extracting pyrene with their Accelerated Solvent Extractor (ASE) verses by filtration only. So far, the SERS data suggests that we can take soil samples and run Raman in situ (in the field) without needing this awesome piece of equipment below. Instead of taking a soil sample back the the lab, doing the extraction with the ASE machine and doing LPHC/MS, we can get contaminated soil sample out in the field, pour acetone on top, shake and drain through a mechanical filter to extract PAH’s and analyze with portable Surface-enhanced Raman!

Accelerated Solvent Extractor in Dr. Alvarez lab that uses acetone, heat and pressure to extract pyrene from soil.
Seeing the beauty of nanoparticles

I am really enjoying learning about all the research that’s going on at NEWT! Can’t believe it’s almost over 🙁 I will miss working with these amazing people. I will enjoy telling my students about the innovative work that I got to be apart of. Now…time to finish the poster!

3 thoughts on “WAIT!! SLOW DOWN!!!!”

  1. Julia I am so glad you enjoyed your 2nd summer in this program! I am excited to see your research poster on Friday. I can’t believe it is so close to being over!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *