How is week 2 done already?!

How is week 2 done already?!

Cutting quartz slides

My mentor Oara is so patient and kind. She taught me the correct way to score a quartz microscope slide with a diamond tip pen. It certainly takes proper technique to evenly cut the quartz substrates without breaking them unevenly. I love that she recycles the quartz slides when we’re done with an experiment; reduce, reuse, recycle!

Selfie with my other mentor Mary

Preparing the samples and acquiring data

Raman shift showing pyrene

Got to visit Dr. Alvarez main lab on remediation of PAH contaminated soil.

Already started my poster! Can’t wait to share the awesome results and future impact of the research done in Dr. Halas lab.

6 thoughts on “How is week 2 done already?!”

  1. It is awesome that Dr. Alvarez and her students are finding solutions to our problems. Usually, all we are only told about the problems. Keep up the great work.

  2. What a difference between the two samples. It looks like your research is going well. Keep it up!

  3. I also love working with the Mentor here at Rice. These people are brilliant and it is such a blessing to have the opportunity to learn from them.

  4. This is awesome! I got to see you that day you visited us. Keep up the enthusiasm and great work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *